top of page


What is special about Kyushu tea ?

Kyushu (九州, Kyūshū, means "nine provinces") is located on the southwest end of the Japanese , Kyushu consists of the mainland and a chain of small, sub-tropical islands. It is made up of seven prefectures: Fukuoka, Saga, Nagasaki, Oita, Kumamoto, Miyazaki and Kagoshima. 

Kyushu is known for producing high-quality teas with its warm climate, it has the largest number of natural mineral water sources and hot spring source in Japan.

Kyushu is the southernmost tea producing region in Japan, spring arrives here first, meaning it provides the first spring teas of the season.  Called shincha, this can be any tea harvested first, from sencha to tencha to matcha.

The best matcha is also grown here, coming in early spring as shincha in the preharvest before the main harvest begins.

Suitable to create Tencha (Gyokuro), Kamairicha, 'Tamaryokucha and other unique teas.

What is special about Shizuoka tea ?

Shizuoka is widely known as the green tea capital of Japan, and is responsible for over 40% of Japan’s tea production and has been since 1241, when a Japanese monk from the Kamakura period sowed some seeds he’d picked up on a pilgrimage to China and started a beverage revolution. The almost magical beverage boasts many benefits, and it is often touted as a contributor to the longevity and health of the people of Shizuoka.

Tea Map By KyushuOcha
bottom of page